Watch Live Webcast of the Active Sun

Share via AddThis
Posted January 16, 2014

A closeup look at sunspot AR1944 on January 6, 2013, comparing its size to Earth. Credit and copyright:  Ron Cottrell.

A closeup look at sunspot AR1944 on January 6, 2013, comparing its size to Earth. Credit and copyright: Ron Cottrell.

The team from Slooh will broadcast a live Solar special focusing on the sudden emergence of hyperactivity on the Sun — lately attributed sunspot AR 1944. Right now, the Sun is in what is supposed to be the active phase of its 11-year solar cycle, Solar Cycle 24. While this has been an unusually quiet solar maximum, lately the Sun has been more active.

The broadcast will feature live feeds of the Sun from the Prescott Observatory run by Matt Francis and Slooh astronomer Bob Berman. They will provide live expert commentary during the 30 minute broadcast. The Solar Special will start at 10:00 AM PST/ 1:00 PM EST/ 18:00 UTC on Wednesday, January 15th.

You can watch live, below, or the replay if you missed it live:

Source: http://www.universetoday.com



54,118 science & technology articles

Categories

Our Articles (see all)

General News

Follow us

Facebook   Twitter   Pinterest   StumbleUpon   Plurk
Google+   Tumblr   Delicious   RSS   Newsletter via Email

Featured Video (see all)


Using static electricity, insect-sized flying robots can land and stick to surfaces
Small drones need to stay aloft do their jobs — whether that’s searching for dangerous gas leaks or…

Featured Image (see all)

NASA’s rodent habitat, developed at Ames Research Center in Moffett Field, California, serves as a home away from home for mice on the International Space Station. Previous rodent experiments aboard space shuttles contributed to the development of new drugs now fighting osteoporosis on Earth.

Credits: NASA
Mice Studies in Space Offer Clues on Bone Loss
Astronauts know their bodies will be tested during time spent on the International Space Station, from the 15…